The Third Leg of the Longines Global Champions Tour Season Under Way

The third leg of the 2013 Longines Global Champions Tour is upon us. All the horses have arrived in Wiesbaden, Germany as today marks the third Longines GCT Grand Prix of the season. It will be the second time the Longines Global Champions Tour has come to the historic Schlosspark Wiesbaden-Biebrich after last year’s debut.

For 75 years, one of the oldest and most traditional horse shows in the world has taken place in this spectacularly beautiful setting. Last year's event attracted approximately 70,000 visitors, who were treated to world class equestrian sport. 

This year, we have a spectacular line up of international talent, including four Olympic medallists from the Netherlands which of course includes 2012 Olympic Individual Silver medallist Gerco Schroder. The United Kingdom will have five representatives to bear the union jack, including the legendary brotherhood of Michael and John Whitaker. The two brothers will be joined by Tim Gredley, Laura Renwick and William Funnel.

Two members of the Australian Olympic team for London 2012 will be in attendance, top-ranking lady rider Edwina Tops-Alexander and Julia Haregreaves. But it is Germany who will be the strongest represented country this weekend in Wiesbaden with a total of ten international representatives.

World number one ranking rider Christian Ahlmann won last week's Longines GCT Grand Prix of Hamburg and now sits in 7th place on top the 2013 Longines Global Champions Tour season rankings. Christian will be riding his notable stallion Taloubet Z as well as the lovely Little Lady Z for the weekend of competition. Christian will be joined by four-time Olympic medallist Ludger Beerbaum, his sister-in-law Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, who finished second last season in the Grand Prix of Vienna aboard her big-bodied bay mare Bella Donna.

Today will certainly be an exciting spectacle of sport and competition, as we wait to see who will be crowned the winner of the 2013 Longines GCT Grand Prix of Wiesbaden.