National Champions Crowned at NHSFR

After a week of competition that featured nearly 1,500 contestants from all across the United States, Canada and Australia, the 2012 National High School Finals Rodeo National Champions were crowned  at the Sweetwater Events Complex in Rock Springs, Wyoming.

The top 20 contestants based on their two-head average times and scores advanced to the short round on Saturday night, where they competed in front of a packed house and cameras from RFD-TV’s Cinchtown Tour.

National Champions were determined by their three-head average scores and earned awards that included college scholarships and custom Gist Silversmiths buckles, as well as products from Cinch Jeans and Shirts, Ariat Boots, Resistol Hats, Professional’s Choice and more.

The 2012 NHSFR National Champions are:

All-Around Cowboy: Garrett Smith, Rexburg, Idaho

All-Around Cowgirl: Mia Manzanares, Opelousas, La.

NHSRA Queen: Maicie Bullock, Pocatello, Idaho

Team Champions: Texas

Bareback Riding: Casey Meroshnekoff, Red Bluff, Calif., 224 points on three

Barrel Racing: Vanessa Leggett, Kamloops, British Columbia, Can., 52.29

Breakaway Roping: Cady Cooper, Parrish, Fla., 7.7 seconds on three

Bull Riding: Joseph McConnel, Farmington, N.M., 218 points on three

Girls Cutting: Sadee Smith, Star, Idaho, 666 points on three

Boys Cutting: Hunter Hightower, Santo, Texas, 660 points on three

Goat Tying: Kelsey Lutjen, Florence, Ariz., 26.82 seconds on three

Pole Bending: Leia Pluemer, Bosque Farms, N.M., 59.93 seconds on three

Saddle Bronc Riding: Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah, 227 points on three

Steer Wrestling:  Ricky Rice II, Natural Dam, Ark., 15.77 seconds on three

Team Roping: Morgan McVay, Sparks, Nev., Bradin Porter, Spring Creek, Nev., 21.9 seconds on three

Tie-Down Roping: Drew Cowan, Highmore, S.D., 27.8 seconds on three

All-Around Rookie Cowboy: Marcus Theriot, Poplarville, Miss.

All-Around Rookie Cowgirl: Mia Manzanares, Opelousas, La.