Spruce Meadows ‘Canada One’ has Star Power

The pros were at it again for the 2012 Spruce Meadows ‘Canada One’ Tournament in Calgary, with half a million dollars in prize money on the line though Sunday.

Kent Farrington & Venus. Photo by Spruce Meadows Media Services.

Wednesday started off well for Kent Farrington (USA). After going up against 46 horse/rider combinations in the 1.50 meter Cargill Cup, designed by Anthony D’Ambrosio Farrington emerged victorious. No one could catch the time set by Farrington and his 10 year old Dutch Warmblood mare, Venus. This is Farrington’s 5th FEI Victory at Spruce Meadows this season.

Farrington tried for two, but two-time Olympian Beezie Madden (USA) couldn’t be beat in the $60,000 Akita Drilling Cup. The 550 meter course designed by Anthony D’Ambrosio (USA) saw 25 horse/rider combinations narrowed down to 5 riders, all of whome are heading to London, save for Farrington.

In the end, Farrington ended up with silver, while Madden took home top prize on her 10 year old Belgian Warmblood gelding, Cortes C. Madden was thrilled with the result, saying Cortes C showed he’s got what it takes to compete against the big boys. “I’m really pleased, I think he is really starting to understand” Madden said. “When I ask him the questions, he answers me. The speed, the scope, the power; he has it all to go up against the guys who were in this competition.”

Today marked Ian Millar’s 2012 debut at Spruce Meadows, with a double clear performance in the Akita Drilling Cup, on his 12 year old Olympic mount, Star Power. This year marks an important year for Millar, who will attend his 10th Olympic games in London, and is contention for carrying the flag for Canada.

For a complete tournament schedule, visit the Spruce Meadows website at  

Cargill Cup Top Ten

1  Kent Farrington, USA, Venus

2  Beezie Madden, USA, Vanilla

3  Rodrigo Lambre, BRA, Chepepe la Escondida

4  Helen McNaught,, GBR, Laricello

5  Sean Crooks, USA, Armegedon

6  Yann Candele, CAN, Corlotta Singular la Magnifica

7  Helen McNaught, GBR, Caballo

8  Tiffany Foster, CAN, Victor

9  Caitlin Ziegler, USA, Touch Down

10  Lucy Davis, USA, Nemo 119

AKITA Drilling Cup Top Ten

1  Beezie Madden, USA, Cortes C

2  Kent Farrington, USA, Uceko

3  McLain Ward, USA, Rothchild

4  Ian Millar, CAN, Star Power

5  Mario Deslauriers, USA, Urico

6  Robert Whitaker, GBR, USA Today

7  Ashlee Bond, USA, Cadett 7

8  Robert Whitaker, GBR, Catwalk IV

9  Kent Farrington, USA, Voyeur

10  Jonathan McCrea, USA, Colorado