Christine McCrea Honored With 2012 Whitney Stone Cup from USET Foundation

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation is pleased to announce that Pan American Games Show Jumping Team and Individual Gold medalist Christine McCrea of East Windsor, CT, is the recipient of the 2012 Whitney Stone Cup.

The award is presented annually to an active competitor who displays consistent excellence in international competition and high standards of sportsmanlike conduct while serving as an ambassador for the United States and equestrian sport.

McCrea represented the United States on numerous occasions in 2011 with her talented mount, Romantovich Take One, and earned Show Jumping’s Individual Gold medal at the 2011 Pan American Games with five clear rounds.

McCrea was presented with the trophy during the USET Foundation’s benefit, “An English Country Evening” at the Palm Beach International Equestrian Center in Wellington, FL, on January 27, 2012.

“I am thrilled to win this award, it is such an honor for myself and my family,” expressed McCrea. “The Pan American Games were like a dream, it was incredible. On one hand it was unbelievable, but on the other hand it kind of wasn’t because I have that much confidence in my horse and I know he’s really that talented. He loves getting up and going to work every day, and when you have a horse with a character like that it just makes the whole process more fun and more exciting.”

In addition to McCrea’s success at the Pan American Games, she also represented the United States on six occasions during the Top League Series in Europe. She excelled throughout the summer with Romantovich Take One, completing six clear rounds. “I love showing in Europe and competing on a Nation’s Cup Team. I think it’s the highest honor for any rider,” she explained. “It was a little sad the way the Top League ended up for our country, but I know it wasn’t for lack of trying. Competing in Europe was amazing and gave me so much confidence.”

McCrea added, “George Morris and Lizzy Chesson were unbelievable, as was the whole team experience. Having that whole team and the USET Foundation behind you makes you really feel comfortable and you can focus on your job.”

In 2012, McCrea will be focusing on the 2012 London Olympic Trials at the end of March during the Winter Equestrian Festival. In addition to her talented horse, McCrea would like to thank her parents, Larry and Candy Tribble, and her husband, Jonathan McCrea, for their incredible support over the years.

Whitney Stone Cup Winners

The Whitney Stone Cup is awarded in honor of the late Whitney Stone, who served as President and Chairman of the Board of the United States Equestrian Team from 1953 to 1973. Mr. Stone was instrumental in the creation of a civilian equestrian team when the Army retired from competitive horse sports after 1948. Previous Whitney Stone Cup winners are:


1980 – Michael Matz

1981 – James C. Wofford

1982 – Norman Dello Joio

1983 – Melanie Smith (Taylor)

1984 – Carole Grant

1985 – Joe Fargis

1986 – Conrad Homfeld

1987 – Katie Monahan Prudent

1988 – Bruce O. Davidson

1989 – Gregory A. Best

1990 – William Long

1991 – Hap Hansen

1992 – Lana DuPont Wright

1993 – Carol Lavell

1994 – J. Michael Plumb

1995 – Robert Dover

1996 – Anne Kursinski

1997 – Leslie Burr Howard

1998 – David O’Connor

1999 – Valerie Kanavy

2000 – Karen O’Connor

2001 – Tucker Johnson

2002 – Guenter Seidel

2003 – Peter Wylde

2004 – Debbie McDonald

2005 – Chris Kappler

2006 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2007 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2008 – Miranda (Randy) Caldwell

2009 – Steffen Peters

2010 – McLain Ward

2011 – Tucker S. Johnson

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation ( is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite and developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at