U.S. Equestrian Delegation Heads to 2011 Pan American Games


by USEF Communications Department
The United States Equestrian Federation's (USEF) delegation packs up and begins to head South of the Border next week - get ready Guadalajara. Dressage lands first on October 11. Eventing follows on the 15th and Jumping comes in on the 21st. Equestrian is represented by 14 athletes who make up 627 athletes heading to Mexico to represent the United States. Of the 79 Olympians represented in the entire U.S. Team - three are from the sport of equestrian.

This delegation includes (in alphabetical order within each group):

14 horses (3 mares and 11 geldings; 8 bay or brown, 3 chestnut and 3 grey)

Dressage: Big Tyme, Grandioso, Paragon, Weltino’s Magic

Eventing: Absolute Liberty, Ballingowan Pizazz, Downtown Harrison, Harbour Pilot, Schoensgreen Hanni

Jumping: Antares F, Coral Reef’s Via Volo, Romantovich Take One, Uceko, Urico (reserve)

14 riders from eight states (CA, CT, FL, GA, IL, NJ, NY, VA)

Dressage: Heather Blitz, Marisa Festerling, Cesar Parra, Steffen Peters

Eventing: Hannah Sue Burnett, Buck Davidson, Jonathan Holling, Shannon Lilley, Michael Pollard

Jumping: Mario Deslauriers (reserve,) Kent Farrington, Beezie Madden, Christine McCrea, McLain Ward

Supported by 12 Groups of Owners

Jane Forbes Clark, Coral Reef Ranch, Michael and Sarah Davis, Grant Road Partners LLC, Jen and Bruce Hlavacek, Constance Holling, The Lilley Group, Jacqueline Mars, Nathalie Pollard, RCG Farm, Sharon Will and Windsor Show Stables (Heather Blitz and Marisa Festerling own their own horses)

16 Grooms

Genna and Juan Arrango (Romantovich Take One), Kate Chitty (Absolute Liberty), Cat Hill (Ballingowan Pizzaz), Eddie Garcia Luna (Weltino’s Magic), Jennifer Mandracia (Grandioso), Lee McKeever (Antares F), Sara McKenna (Harbour Pilot), Hannah Michaels (Paragon), Joy Montgomery (Urico – reserve), Alex O’Neal (Downtown Harrison), Diane Puopolo (Antares F), Clark Shipley (Coral Reef Via Volo), Katie Thornton (Schoensgreen Hanni), Alex Warriner (Uceko), Caitlin Zacha (Big Tyme)

18 staff members (10 men, 8 women)

3 Chefs d’Equipe George Morris (jumping), Capt. Mark Phillips (eventing), Eva Salomon (dressage)

3 Team Leaders Lizzy Chesson (jumping), Sara Ike (eventing), Jenny van Wieren-Page (dressage)

3 Veterinarians Dr. Brendan Furlong (eventing), Dr. Rick Mitchell (dressage), Dr. Tim Ober (jumping)

2 Physiotherapists Angie Cooney, Janus Marquis

2 Farriers Todd Meister, Steve Teichman

1 Technical Advisor Anne Gribbons (dressage)

1 CEO John Long

1 Chef d’Mission James Wolf

1 Office Manager Extraordinaire Christy Baxter

1 Stable Manager Doug Hannum

1 Press Officer Joanie Morris

There will be lots more from Mexico over the next three weeks. Please follow us on Twitter @USEquestrianHP for up-to-the minute updates and check http://usefnetwork.com/featured/2011PanAmGames/ regularly for photos, interviews, press releases, video and blogs.

Equestrian competition runs from October 15-29, 2011. Please click here for more information about the Games.