Reining – on the Road to Aachen: The Swiss Team

Swiss Team announced for reining competition in Aachen. WEGSwiss Team announced for reining competition in Aachen. WEG

Story originally posted by Staff

Jeannette Kräehenbüehl
Jeannette started riding when she was a child and fell in love for Western Riding during a ranch vacation in Texas. Today she trains with Australian Martin Larcombe. Jeannette was multiple Bronze Trophy Champion, World Reining Trophy Champion Non Pro 2004, Reserve Champion Non Pro at the Challenge and the Americana 2004 and NRHA Reserve World Champion Non Pro 2004, represented Switzerland at the FEI World Reining Masters twice winning 2 gold and one bronze medal and won, the CRIs in Mooslargue and Deitingen.

Jeannette rides her ARC Golden Boy, a Palomino by Surprise Enterprise out of ARC Topsail Lady bred by Paola Arcese. ARC Golden Boy was NRHA Breeders Futurity Champion Non Pro 2000, IRHA Futurity Reserve Champion Non Pro and IRHA Derby Reserve Champion.

Evelyne Rõthlisberger
The 26-year-old trainer grew up with horses. Beginning with classic style and show jumping, she later became fascinated with reining. She worked as a co-trainer for Kim Diercks for two years. Evelyne was three times Swiss Reserve Champion Youth Reining and won the CRI at the SwissSlide 2006 Givrins.

She rides Gallo Pequeno, a sorrel stallion by Gallo Del Cielo out of Lenalou that was bred by Katsy Mecom. The owner is Daniel Straumann who was World Reining Trophy Finalist Non Pro 2004 and 2005 and won several Bronze Trophies Open and Non Pro with this horse.

Carmen Schultheiss
The 27-year-old trainer won several Bronze Trophies, was several times Swiss Champion, Americana Bronze Trophy Finalist 1998, European Championship (FEQHA) Junior Reining Open Finalist, World Show Qualifier Junior Reining Open 1999 and 2000 and NRHA Breeders Futurity Finalist Open. She also was a member of the 2002 WEG Team.

Her horse is Flites Enterprise, by Chex Enterprise out of Trips Flite that was bred by Georg Pscheidt, Munich, GER. Flites Enterprise was. 2002 Champion Super Slide SBH Futurity Open, placed fifth at the NRHA Breeders SBH Futurity Open 2002 and became Breeders Futurity Bit Finalist 2003

Selina Schultheiss
The 21-year-old student grew up with horses and rode ponies as a child. She started showing western as an All-around with her Arabian mare and later turned to Reining. Selina was three times Bronze Trophy Champion and Multiple Reserve Champion, several times Futurity Finalist, a member of the 2002 WEG team in Jerez, Reserve Champion SBH NRHA Breeders Futurity Non Pro 2004 and WRT Non Pro Finalist 2005.

Selina rides Dunit Sugar Quixote (Hollywood Dun It x Paul Sugar Gril), a mare owned by Willem Jan Langendoen (NED) and bred by Helmut Schmaus-Gerstenberg (GER). SheÕs got her ROM Reining, placed third at the Dutch Championship 2003, was NRHA Breeders Derby Finalist Open 2004, Bronze Trophy Champion Open 2004 and NRHA Breeders Derby Finalist Open 2005.

Alex Kubli
Alex started riding when he was 30 years old and bought his first American Quarter Horse stallion from Ludwig Quarter Horses. It was also Grischa Ludwig who influenced his training. Alex had his first big success in 2002 when he placed third at the NRHA Breeders Futurity astride his LQ Here I Am. In 2003, he was Swiss Champion Junior Reining. In 2004, he became NRHA Breeders Futurity Non Pro Reserve Champion and became NRHA Futurity Switzerland Open Reserve Champion and Non Pro Champion in 2005.

He rides Jokers Freckle King (Jokers Enterprise x Billie Freckles) that was bred by Helmut Kiemer. Jokers Freckle King was NRHA Breeders Futurity Non Pro Reserve Champion 2004, placed sixth at the NRHA Breeders Derby Non Pro 2005 and was NRHA Futurity Switzerland Non Pro Champion and Open Reserve Champion 2005.
The World Equestrian Games in Reining are scheduled for September 1 and 3, team competition starting on Friday (September 1) at 10 a.m. Individual competitions will follow on Sunday starting at 11.15 a.m.

After FEIÕs nomination deadline this week, it updated its listing of the nations competing. Now altogether 98 competitors are nominated at the moment. The following nations nominated teams: Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Great Britain, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland and the U.S.A. Hungary, Mexico, Norway, Poland and South Africa announced individual competitors.